Traditional Spanish Treats

The holiday season is here! Toy catalogs are stuffed into our mailbox and Mercadona is full of Christmas foods. I feel a little more well-versed in regard to Spanish treats this year, so I feel confident in a run down of the different, typical sweets you’ll find in Spain during the autumn and winter holiday season.

Huesitos de Santos

These tiny, flavored rolls appear around the beginning of October and are specifically for “All Saint’s Day” celebrated in Spain on November 1st. It’s their version of Memorial Day, where families gather together for a meal and some head to the cemetery to decorate family members’ graves. Literally translating to “Little Saint Bones,” these aren’t my favorite, but if you must try them I recommend coffee flavor.

Churros
Although Spain isn’t the only country to feature churros, it’s definitely become a favorite of mine after living here! These strips of fried dough coated in sugar are best paired with a cup of thick liquid chocolate for dipping. Logroño has many different churrerías, from street stands to chocolate shops.

My favorite are from the Valor Chocolate shop chain. Although it’s pricier, the dough is much thicker and the chocolate is amazing. I love churros because it reminds me of winter and the feels from when we first arrived in Spain.

Castanas

Small huts selling roasted chestnuts is Spain’s version of the Game of Throne’s coin phrase: “Winter is Coming.” They pop up as soon as the weather gits cold. Although there are classic Christmas tunes featuring chestnuts, I tried my first last year in Spain. They’re a festive, filling, street food– perfect to warm your hands on a chilly walk in Logroño.

Mazapan

Mazapan is like a almond filled, sugar baked biscuit– very dense and flavorful. I find that a lot of Spanish treats are made from almonds… which is fine because it’s a favorite of mine!

Turron

Turron is also traditional and unique to Spain. It comes in many different varieties. You must first decide between hard or soft. “Hard” turron is like a bark, while “soft” is more like a fudge texture. The cream and sugar are baked into tablets with almonds mixed in.

I’ll be overindulging in all of the above until the beginning of January… then I’m headed home to stuff myself with my much preferred holiday favorites from the U.S.A!

2 Responses to “Traditional Spanish Treats”

  1. Mike

    I’ve tried most of these, but not all, YET! It looks like I’ve have some more exploring to do outside of Laurel street. Actually, Mazapan is the only thing I need to eat still. I loved the Huesitos de Santos, so I’m glad I tried them, numerous times, before they disappeared after Todos los Santos.

Comments are closed.